23
Mar
07

Never Again Will I Buy a Memorex Product

MEMOREX CUSTOMER SERVICE SUCKS

With that out of the way, I’ll now continue. Okay, back in December, I bought a dock for my iPod nano from Office Depot. Well, a week later, it broke, and I took it back and exchanged it for a Memorex dock, because of course, Memorex is better quality, right?

Nope.

Memorex iWake Mi4004

So I purchased this dock back in January. Well, come halfway through February, I go to change the station on the radio on it, and I get a huge shock from it, and the whole system is fried. So I send a Warranty Submission to them from their website, wait about a WEEK, and I get a form letter response from them on Feb 20th, asking me for:

  • Name
  • Address
  • Model #
  • Serial #
  • Problem I’m Having

Doesn’t sound too unreasonable, right? But wait, didn’t I just send them all of that information? Here’s the kicker: they included, in the bottom of this form e-mail, all of the information that I had sent, that they were now requesting!

So now, I try to send them a reply telling them they have this information already. A day later, I get a response that my mail was rejected. How nice of them to send me an e-mail from an address that you can’t reply to. So I go back to their website, and find their alternative e-mail address, and send my reply again. I sent this reply on February 22nd. Guess when I get a response?

If you guessed any date in February, you’re wrong. March 2nd. Here was their response:

Need your mailing address

That’s IT! I mean, I guess I should be happy that it wasn’t a form letter, but that isn’t even a full sentence! Not to mention, again, they already have this information!!!

So I assume, okay, they’ve managed to screw up and lose my information. Fine, I’ll send it again. So I send it again, and I get this response (actually on the same day, imagine that!):

SO now you need to follow the procedures that was emailed to you.

What the HECK? They never e-mailed me any procedures! All their original e-mail did was ask for my information. No shipping address was provided, I never got an RA#, nothing. I sent them back an e-mail quoting the original e-mail that said that I was required to have an RA# or it would be refused, and asked them for an RA#. Keep in mind this is March 6th. March 12th, still no response.

Customer What?

So now, (bear with me, I swear this story has an end!) I hunt down their customer service number (conveniently placed nowhere on their website) and call. After waiting 10 minutes, and hearing “We’ll be with you shortly” in about every possible different phrasing possible, repeating every 10 seconds (I kid you not, EVERY TEN SECONDS) I finally get ahold of someone, and explain my issues so far. He then tells me that I do not need an RA#, gives me the shipping address, and we’re off the phone and done in less than five minutes. Great, right? So I go out and ship it on the 13th through DHL, and on the 15th, I get a verification that it was delivered and signed for.

Today, the 23rd, I call them again, listen to the lovely, random “We could care less about your call, please continue to freaking hold.” messages over and over again, and finally get in contact with someone again. He looks up my account, and tells me “Oh yes, that was just finished today!” which is cover-up customer service speak for:

Holy crap, I forgot all about that, let me go grab another product off the shelf and throw it in the mail real quick

Oh Crap!

He then starts the whole “Thanks for calling, have a nice day” routine, but I cut him off, and asked if they would send me an e-mail upon shipment back to me. He tells me, “you never provided an e-mail address according to the records”, upon which I had an envisionment of me repeatedly kicking this man in the balls, and enjoying it more than I ever probably should, but I just gave him the e-mail address, and got off the phone.

Thank you for reading, your visit is very important to me. Please continue to read, the next available post will contact you shortly. Again, thank you for calling….

12 Responses to “Never Again Will I Buy a Memorex Product”


  1. 1 Roger
    February 7, 2008 at 4:03 PM

    02/07/2008
    I also have had a horrible experience with Memorex technical support. I returned a defective DVD burner. I received a replacement but they did not send a power cord nor a USB cord. I called their so-called support number at 1-877-474-8548 5 times. Each time I was told I would receive the missing equipment or I would receive a return phone call.
    Each time nothing happened. I have emailed memorex.com and never got a respose.
    I will never buy a Memorex product again. Here is the email I sent to Memorex.
    02/05/2008

    In July of 2007 I purchased a Memorex DVD Recorder Model 32023223 from Circuit City. It stopped working,

    I contacted your tech support department, was given RMA # 42248, returned the unit on January 7th, 2008 and received a package on January 14th.

    The package only contained the DVD Recorder, not the AC adapter, power cord nor a USB cord.

    I contacted the tech support dept on January 14th (1-877-474-8548) and was told I would receive the missing components in 7-10 days. It never arrived.

    I called tech support again around the 28th of January. A Carlos told me he would call me in 24 hours to give me a status. I never received the call.

    I called again last Wednesday and was told by someone in tech support they would call me this Monday at 1:00 EST. The call never came.

    I talked to someone Monday at around 3:00 PM EST who said he was a tech department supervisor. He told me he would make sure I would have an answer to when the missing products would be sent either by email or a phone call. I received neither an email nor a phone call.

    It is frustrating to receive an incomplete shipment. But I am perturbed and puzzled as to why everyone I speak to in the tech support department has lied about returning a phone call, especially from a reputable company like Memorex.

    Is your tech support department out-sourced. They are very unconcerned and negligent about customer service.

    I just want to know will I be receiving my missing items or not.

    Regards,
    Roger

  2. February 7, 2008 at 4:28 PM

    I got a dock station for Christmas. Surprise it quit working! It is good to know that I will never get help. And that I am now out 80 bucks thanks Memorex.

  3. 3 Kevin
    February 7, 2008 at 5:19 PM

    Sucks to hear that it’s not just me. :(

    Roger, yeah, it seems to be a recurring theme of lack of communication. Whenever I’d call them back, no one ever seemed to have any record of me calling before. I hope you do eventually get your stuff back, but I wouldn’t hold your hopes up too high.

    And Amanda, yeah, it’s a nice dock WHEN IT WORKS, and fortunately since I got my new one, nothing has happened to it, but I figure it’s just a matter of time. I’d still try to get a replacement though, maybe you can be the one person who actually gets it right. :D

  4. July 16, 2008 at 6:20 AM

    I put all my priceless compositions onto Memerex DVD+Rs in duplicate and now they only read back through several of my DVD players as blank CDs with RAW data.

    Just try and find some customer service. It’s impossible. Don’t even bother. What’s the point. You’l only give your self a headache and get nothing in return. That’s if you can find a customer service representative in the first place.

    I will never buy another memerex product for as long as I shall live. I’d advise you all to do the same.

  5. 5 TheBreeze
    December 14, 2008 at 10:43 PM

    I too will NEVER buy another Memorex product. Every CD Label I have tried to print as screwed up but one! I paid $17.00 for the 20 pack Memorex High Gloass CD Labels. There are 2 Labels per sheet like other namebrand labels, BUT they are off-set, which meant I had to download Memorex’s Label Software. The labels will NOT print correctly. I have hand fed the printer, and no matter what I do, the labels are NOT in alignment. What a waste of money! In the past, I have always used NEATO by Fellowes. NEATO was out of stock, so I opted to try the Memorex brand; what a MAJOR mistake!

  6. February 2, 2009 at 5:38 PM

    [Quote]I also have had a horrible experience with Memorex technical support. I returned a defective DVD burner. I received a replacement but they did not send a power cord nor a USB cord. I called their so-called support number at 1-877-474-8548 5 times. Each time I was told I would receive the missing equipment or I would receive a return phone call.
    Each time nothing happened. I have emailed memorex.com and never got a respose.
    I will never buy a Memorex product again. Here is the email I sent to Memorex.
    02/05/2008

    In July of 2007 I purchased a Memorex DVD Recorder Model 32023223 from Circuit City. It stopped working,

    I contacted your tech support department, was given RMA # 42248, returned the unit on January 7th, 2008 and received a package on January 14th.

    The package only contained the DVD Recorder, not the AC adapter, power cord nor a USB cord.

    I contacted the tech support dept on January 14th (1-877-474-8548) and was told I would receive the missing components in 7-10 days. It never arrived.

    I called tech support again around the 28th of January. A Carlos told me he would call me in 24 hours to give me a status. I never received the call.

    I called again last Wednesday and was told by someone in tech support they would call me this Monday at 1:00 EST. The call never came.

    I talked to someone Monday at around 3:00 PM EST who said he was a tech department supervisor. He told me he would make sure I would have an answer to when the missing products would be sent either by email or a phone call. I received neither an email nor a phone call.

    It is frustrating to receive an incomplete shipment. But I am perturbed and puzzled as to why everyone I speak to in the tech support department has lied about returning a phone call, especially from a reputable company like Memorex.

    Is your tech support department out-sourced. They are very unconcerned and negligent about customer service.

    I just want to know will I be receiving my missing items or not.

    Regards,
    Roger[/Quote]
    You were not supposed to send to cables on the first place, the instructions specifically say only the items above no cables, no manuals, no stands No nuttin’ only the drive itself. I did a replacement with them and everything went according to plan ’cause I did follow their instructions. Now u know what to do, read first complain later.

    [Quote]I too will NEVER buy another Memorex product. Every CD Label I have tried to print as screwed up but one! I paid $17.00 for the 20 pack Memorex High Gloass CD Labels. There are 2 Labels per sheet like other namebrand labels, BUT they are off-set, which meant I had to download Memorex’s Label Software. The labels will NOT print correctly. I have hand fed the printer, and no matter what I do, the labels are NOT in alignment. What a waste of money! In the past, I have always used NEATO by Fellowes. NEATO was out of stock, so I opted to try the Memorex brand; what a MAJOR mistake![/Quote]

    I’ve been using Memorex labels for years, all you had to do, was calibrate the printer or try to call their technical support, they are really helpful most of the times, you can also change the paper type to photo paper. Simple as that, aside from that you are complaining for a product that cost 17$ don’t expect great quality.

    Some people just complain and they do not think that everybody has a bad day and sometimes they try to do their best to help, but if you call with an attitude that firs of all the person that you are talking to doesn’t have anything to do with ur problem, they are there only to help you, they didn’t come with the idea of creating that product, they do not get any money when you buy one of their products, let’s be reasonable for once and try to understand people.

    Cheers
    $h!n

  7. 7 John
    May 8, 2009 at 2:41 PM

    I’ve been trying to get them through e-mail. I had a different issue about a year ago – that I eventually gave up on. Yesterday, I e-mailed e-memorex and memorex support e-mails the same thing. Both of them wrote me back and said (in automatic replies) that I needed to e-mail the other one.

    So then I sent an e-mail to both of them with just “@(^#(^#$(&^#(*#&^&*^*#^*#QQ” jibberish in it. Same thing. Except the techsupport@memorex.com told me they could not help with the particular problem and gave me the infamous phone number above (which rings busy).

    I am a distributor, and have about 75 stores under my belt (not my store – I just sell them product). Since Feb 08 I have been selling lots of Memorex blank CD-R. Wow, I had no idea they were such jerks. Seems like they’ve teamed up with Imation now ?

    Can anyone recommend to me a civilized company whose CD’s I should sell instead of these clowns? My e-mail is john33xyz@yahoo.com – thanks !!

  8. July 13, 2013 at 1:26 PM

    Although present day styles make look simple the types
    of materials used of their production is with the highest quality because
    you will find with sets of cutlery until this company produces.
    If you are hosting a social gathering then essentially the most important part may be the table setting.
    You’ll need to realize that when a person sells a “pure silver” flatware, it’s
    to be gold or an excellent silver alloy because pure silver doesn’t have any utility value due to the softness which enable it to definitely not be molded into flatware.

  9. July 2, 2014 at 1:44 AM

    Hi there! This is my first comment here so I just wanted to give a quick shout out and tell you I genuinely enjoy reading
    through your posts. Can you suggest any other blogs/websites/forums that cover the same subjects?
    Appreciate it!

  10. July 10, 2014 at 7:14 PM

    What you published was very reasonable. But, think about this, suppose
    you were to write a awesome post title? I mean, I don’t want to tell you how to run your blog, but suppose you added something to
    possibly get folk’s attention? I mean Never Again Will I Buy a Memorex
    Product | Kevin is kinda boring. You might glance at Yahoo’s home page and note how they create article titles to grab viewers to click.
    You might add a related video or a picture or two to get readers excited about what you’ve got to say.
    In my opinion, it could bring your posts a little livelier.

  11. August 21, 2014 at 9:31 PM

    You might get straight forward, upfront and detail scope of function. Negative air filtration units
    and containment barriers must be utilized to prevent the spread of these spores.
    Come to think of it, vinegar is specifically made for
    cooking and flavoring, not for molds.


Leave a Reply

