09
Apr
07

Nikon D40 or Nikon D50?

I want to buy a DSLR.

No news there, really. First I need a few of these:
100 Dollar Bills

I actually talked to someone recently at work who is looking at selling his Nikon D50, and he’s going to be calling in a few weeks to let me know how much he wants for it. However, I was actually looking at the D40 first, seeing as it’s a newer model, and that was what I was originally saving up for, but the D50 looks to have a few good feature differences between the D40. So I really don’t know whether I should think about buying the D50 used (at a good price difference, or I wouldn’t get it), or just go ahead and spring the extra to buy it new, or the D40 new.
Nikon D40

I don’t know, or maybe I could just wait, but I really like doing photography, and right now, my camera is just an Olympus SP-310 which, while nice for a point and shoot, doesn’t come near a DSLR.

I’m leaning towards Nikon, but if anyone has some good suggestions for an entry-level DSLR for someone who’s fairly well-versed on manual controls, give me a shout!

5 Responses to “Nikon D40 or Nikon D50?”


  1. April 9, 2007 at 1:31 PM

    Yep, Canon Digital Rebel XT or XTi but I suppose you have already voted for the Nikon system rather than Canon’s EF(s) system. I have some discussion on this (including some photo work) on my blog.
    Cheers

  2. 2 Kevin
    April 9, 2007 at 1:51 PM

    Actually, I’d thought about the Rebel as well, I’ve really heard good things about all three. I’ve just liked the body style of Nikon cameras better as of so far, but I’m going to go to a camera store sometime and see if they have some that I can try, and see which one I like better.

    I’ll take a look at your blog, too, thanks!

  3. April 9, 2007 at 4:19 PM

    If you can get a good price for the D50, just buy that. It’s an excellent camera, and the only brand alternative seems to be the cannon. But this D50 has virtually fallen into your lap at the right time lol. The D40’s probably a little better, but it’s new, so gonna cost more. Buy the D50, spend the money saved on a tripod/monopod and maybe a strobe.

  4. 4 Kevin
    April 9, 2007 at 10:02 PM

    Sounds good to me. I’ll just have to see what he wants for it, and see if I can afford it. :)

    I’d love to start taking photography more seriously, but I’m just kinda limited with my camera right now. I’ve got some stuff on my Flickr page, but nothing too great.

    One thing I definitely liked about the D50 over the D40 was that the D40 only supported autofocus in SPECIFIC lenses, while the D50 will do it with any of them. Something to do with an autofocus motor in the camera.


Leave a Reply

