10
Apr
07

I Don’t Like Javascript Anymore

Not that I ever really did, honestly. I’ve been working on these school assignments for the class I’m taking online, and one of the classes is a Javascript class. The problem with this is, the book we’re using is six years old. Meaning, when you go to look for help on the internet, all the code has changed, so you have to totally rework the problems to fit modern code.
Javascript Code

When this becomes a real problem though, is when you’ve written a part of the code modern, and part ancient. In my case, I ended up confused between:

<script language=”javascript>
and
<script type=”javascript>

So for the last few weeks, I’ve been working on this project, frustrated like crazy, trying to find any reason why my code wasn’t working. Turns out, it’s supposed to be type=”text/javascript” instead of just type=”javascript. That was the whole reason it hadn’t been working.

That’s what I hate about programming. It’s never a difficult error that you make. You never realize “Oh crap, I’m going to have to rewrite that entire script block!”. No, it’s always a period out of place; a semi-colon astray; a missing quotation mark. All the things that, once you find them, become so ridiculously simple, that you want to inflict a lot of pain on yourself for not noticing it in the first place.

The good news? I finished the project. Two weeks late. Not sure how the grade will go, but I’m just glad it’s overwith.

0 Responses to “I Don’t Like Javascript Anymore”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

