26
Apr
07

No Ma’am, I Cannot Delete Your MySpace Profile…

It’s always amusing when technologically challenged people ask you for strange requests.

Yesterday I was at OfficeMax, and this middle-aged couple came by the copy counter wanting to know about a registered receipt that they needed from a shipment they had shipped via DHL. Well, to my knowledge, we don’t DO registered receipts in our store, we’re just a drop-off location primarily.

Well, they go to talk to Shelia for a minute, and then they come back over to see if we have a copy of the tracking receipt (the woman is pretty much in hysterics right now) from back in February. So I look through there, and eventually we find, not the tracking receipt, but the shipping label. By this time though, this couple was creeping me and Josh the heck out, so I didn’t really mention that fact, but I gave her a copy of that. (meaning it probably never got shipped, seeing as we still had the label)

Not satisfied with just that though, she asks me to write down on there something to prove that she was there that day. I was kinda weirded out by this point, because apparently what the deal was, was the shipment was a certified letter to MySpace. She starts into this whole long rant (actually crying during this, too) about how someone has started a MySpace profile under her name, and claimed that there was sexually explicit content on there, involving a minor. At this point, there was no way in heck I was going to get involved with this.

Then the guy that was with her asks us “You kids are usually good with computers, can we get you guys to call MySpace and have them delete the profile?”

Uh, no?

Then he says “Well, can you go onto MySpace and delete it for us?”. I try to explain that there’s no way I could do that unless I was the administrator, but then he still asks “Well, do you know the password for the administrator account?”.

At this point I just told him if he had a problem with it, the only thing he could do is e-mail MySpace, or maybe file a complaint with the FCC (which he asked me to do for him as well) and see if they would take care of it. They eventually gave up and just left, with the woman crying on the way out.

I did eventually find the page she was talking about, and suffice it to say, she was completely exaggerating. It was her own MySpace page, she had comments from her children from back in May ’06, but apparently someone got on her computer or found her password and added a couple offensive sentences to the end of her bio, and now she can’t figure out how to change it.

Sucks to be her, I guess, but it’s not like I could’ve done anything about it.

3 Responses to “No Ma’am, I Cannot Delete Your MySpace Profile…”


  1. July 5, 2014 at 1:13 AM

    Great beat ! I wish to apprentice at the same time as you amend your
    website, how can i subscribe for a blog site?
    The account aided me a acceptable deal. I were tiny bit acquainted of this
    your broadcast offered vibrant transparent concept


Leave a Reply

