13
May
07

Windows Vista Doesn’t Like My 3 Gigs of RAM.

Well, I guess it had to happen sometime. I’ve been a big supporter of Windows Vista since it came out, and Microsoft sent me a complimentary copy for watching some webcasts, but now I have a real complaint about it.
Windows Vista Box

In my last post, I talked about how I just bought 2 GB of memory off of Newegg. So I got that in the next day, and installed it into my PC. Worked fine (after I remembered to change it to single channel mode instead of dual channel) and I’ve been running Vista fine.

Now, a few days later, I get this message that comes up in Vista, saying:

Your software has been deactivated due to a hardware change. Please reactivate within one (1) day or the software may stop working.

Wait, what?

I’ve been using Vista since late January, and now it’s making me reactivate because I added memory?

Well, this wouldn’t be so bad, provided the activation wizard works properly, and I can reactivate it just fine. It didn’t. It tells me the product key that I’m using is already in use. It’s in use on the computer I’m trying to reactivate, geniuses! So I call their phone support line, and the key is still rejected. It attempts to transfer me to a rep for further activation support, but no one ever answers.

So I send a customer service email to Microsoft asking them about it, and telling them what I’ve already tried, and what do they send me? The phone number for Windows XP activation support. And yes, I did tell them it was Vista in the email.

So I call it again anyway, and they end up transferring me to a Microsoft rep, who finally is able to give me an activation code to type in.

I guess the bottom line here is, if they’re going to implement security features to prevent people from pirating their software, then that’s all well in good. However, seeing as they designed this feature in there, they really should make sure that their automatic activation wizard works correctly, because if I have to call in every time I make a minor hardware change, I’m going to get very aggravated.

3 Responses to “Windows Vista Doesn’t Like My 3 Gigs of RAM.”


  1. 1 vistasucks
    May 13, 2007 at 2:56 PM

    I moved a SATA cable and that was enough for Vista to decide my copy was pirated. Which was enough for me to decide I was done with Microsoft forever. I returned my copy for a refund. If anyone else wants to do the same, check out my blog for instructions on how to get your money back. I’m switching to a Mac and dual booting with Ubuntu and OSX

  2. 2 Kevin
    May 13, 2007 at 9:33 PM

    I didn’t pay anything for it, so I don’t think I’d get a refund, haha. I still don’t hate Vista though, and I can somewhat understand where they’re coming from with this feature, but if they’re going to disable your software, they’d better be dang sure the reactivation wizard works properly.


Leave a Reply

